“A call from under the covers” – Release concert at Reykjavík Jazz 2021

The bass player/composer Tómas R. Einarsson will release a new record in August, including compositions he has written to poems of different poets. Einarsson has released various records with singers, but here the focus is on love and melancholy. The music includes many boleros and ballads as well as some more danceable Latin tunes.

For this record Einarsson assembled a stellar cast; the singer Ragnhildur Gísladóttir, one of the most popular Icelandic singers for the last 40 years, guitarist Ómar Guðjónsson, pianist Davíð Þór Jónsson and drummer Magnús Trygvason Elíassen. Ómar, Davíð and Magnús are known as solo artists, members of the ADHD Quartet and performers / composers in the critically acclaimed film Woman at war.

The title of the record, A call from under the covers, is from a poem by Kristín Svava Tómasdóttir (b. 1985).

Ragnhildur Gísladóttir : voice
Tómas R. Einarsson : double bass
Ómar Guðjónsson : guitar
Davíð Þór Jónsson : piano
Magnús Trygvason Eliassen : drums / percussion