Founded in 2017 to distil a murky blend of jazz and electronic music, hist og is a trio featuring Eiríkur Orri Ólafsson on trumpet and electronics, Róbert Sturla Reynisson on guitar, bass and synth, and Magnús Trygvason Eliassen on drums and percussion. Through the lens of their shared musical language, they explore a Day-Glo lit ruminative world of improvisation, jazz and electronic music.

hist og has released two albums, Days of Tundra (2019) and hits of (2020). Both records received wide praise, harvesting three nominations to the Icelandic Music Awards in both 2020 and 2021, a seat on the venerated Kraumur list in 2019 and was named “Improv of the year” by Morgunblaðið the same year. Music critic Arnar Eggert Thoroddsen wrote “smashing stuff … every song is rigidly stamped by the seal of this super-trio.”

The members of hist og have worked with countless outfits over the years, such as múm, Sin Fang, amiina, Sigur Rós, Kira Kira, Seabear and others. They have also collaborated with supreme jazz entities such as ADHD, Hilmar Jensson, Skúli Sverrisson and Mógil.

Eiríkur Orri Ólafsson (IS) : trumpet / electronics
Róbert Sturla Reynisson (IS) : guitar / bass / synth
Magnús Trygvason Eliassen (IS/NO) : drums / percussion