Cellist Geirþrúður Anna Guðmundsdóttir performs all six Solo Cello Suites by Johann Sebastian Bach in a set of concerts in Norðuljós in Harpa.
These concerts are the culmination of a tour, where all six suites resounded across the country.
The Cello Suites are the most beloved works in all the cello repertoire and some of the greatest pieces in the classical canon. In this six-act opera for the solo cello, Bach takes both performer and listener on a magical journey.
Starting with the simple triad which opens innocent sounding first suite, he takes us on through the intimate second suite, the extroverted third suite, the rhetorical fourth suite, the stormy and tragic fifth suite, culminating in the heroic and euphoric sixth suite.

These concerts are supported by Ýli – Harpa’s Fund for Young Musicians.

June 10
Johann Sebastian Bach
Suite No. 1 in G Major, BWV 1007
Suite No. 4 in E-flat Major, BWV 1009
Suite No. 5 in C Minor, BWV 1011

June 11
Johann Sebastian Bach
Suite No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1008
Suite No. 3 in C Major, BWV 1009
Suite No. 6 in D Major, BWV 1012